TWCA Committees

In addition to the Panels, TWCA has a number of committees. Committee chairs are usually appointed by the president.

Executive Committee
Chair: TWCA President David Montagne
Purpose: charged with directing matters of the association for reporting to the full board.
Made up of the immediate past president, president, president-elect, and the 18 vice president and committee appointees from the panels

Membership and Services Committee
Chair: Ty Embrey
supports the board, committees, and panels by seeking to grow the organization, welcome new members, assist in planning conferences, and improve the association’s communication and outreach efforts. There is no official member roster and all members are welcome to attend committee meetings.
Open to all members

Policy Committee
Chair: Dan Buhman
Purpose: provides direction to the board on substantive policies regarding Texas water management. The board’s adopted policies originate at the Policy Committee, and any amendments to those policies must be routed through a formal process at the committee before being considered by the board.
Made up of two members appointed by each panel chair, the chair of each standing committee, and a number of presidential appointments

Water Laws Committee
Chair: Howard Slobodin
Purpose: (1) keeps the membership informed about new developments in the areas of water law and other law that is of interest to the membership; (2) provides recommendations to the board and the membership regarding TWCA’s participation in lawsuits or other disputes; (3) provides legal expertise to the TWCA when developing policy positions; and (4) provides on-going legal education when possible to the membership. There is no official member roster and all members are welcome to participate on the committee.
Open to all members

Federal Affairs Committee
Chair: Tom Ray
Purpose: works to track and understand federal actions and legislation that may impact Texas water resource management, as well as build relationships with the Texas Congressional delegation. For the past 12 years, the Federal Affairs Committee has organized Texas Water Day, a two-day event held in Washington D.C. each February, to allow members to hear from our Texas delegation members, key congressional committee staff, and federal agency leaders. The event is organized by a steering committee comprised of committee members and state agency staff. During the year, the committee routinely reports federal actions to the board and membership, convening at each TWCA conference to review and discuss pertinent federal actions.  
Open to all members

Water Quality Committee
Chair: Randy Palachek 
Purpose: focuses on many topics, including water quality standards, drinking water, stormwater, and wastewater. The committee often engages state and federal agencies implementing water quality regulations on behalf of the association. In recent years, the committee has addressed whole effluent toxicity testing and permitting, mussel issues (both threatened and endangered as well as invasive species), new nutrient requirements for lakes, concern over pharmaceutical products in wastewater discharges, and reuse. 
Open to all members

Water Resources Development and Management Committee
Chair: Walt Sears
Purpose: works with TWCA staff on legislative matters. Similar to the Policy Committee, this committee is made up of two members appointed by each panel chair as well as a number of presidential appointments. It is generally only active during legislative sessions. 
Appointed by the president

Finance Committee
Chair: Mike Booth
Purpose: charged with overseeing the finances of the association and planning for its long-term financial health.
Consists of the immediate past president, president, and president-elect as well as their three appointees

Groundwater Committee
Chairs: Hope Wells and Brian Sledge
Purpose: worked in advance of the 86th Legislature to develop consensus legislation on complicated groundwater issues. It is currently determining whether any remaining topics should be explored in advance of the next session.
Membership was originally open to all members; a committee vote is required to add additional members

Surface Water Committee
Chairs: Lyn Clancy and Bob Brandes
Purpose: this 120-member committee is working on policy issues in advance of the 85th Legislative Session. It has divided into six subcommittees and is also participating in agency discussions on surface water, currently tackling surface water policy issues and weighing in at legislative hearings and on agency matters.
Membership was originally open to all members; a committee vote is required to add additional members

Bylaws Committee
Chair: Jace Houston
Purpose: charged with reviewing the association's bylaws and determining whether any updates should be made.
Consists of members appointed by panel and committee chairs

Flood Response Committee
Bob Brandes
Purpose: this committee is working in advance of the upcoming legislative session to develop educational materials on flood response issues.
Consists of members appointed by panels, committees, and the President